

The City of Seattle

Landmarks Preservation Board

Mailing Address: PO Box 94649, Seattle WA 98124-4649 Street Address: 600 4th Avenue, 4th Floor

LPB 548/21

Ms. Julie Blakeslee University of Washington UW Facilities Building, Box 352205 Seattle, WA 98195-2205

Subject: Denial of University of Washington Wallace Hall – 3737 Brooklyn Avenue NE

Dear Ms. Blakeslee:

At the December 15, 2021 meeting of the City's Landmarks Preservation Board, a motion was made to approve the designation University of Washington Wallace Hall at 3737 Brooklyn Avenue NE. The vote to approve this motion was 4 in favor, and 3 against. This was not a sufficient number of votes for approval of designation. As per the Rules and Regulations, Code of Ethics and Procedures adopted by the Landmarks Preservation Board, votes on designation shall require a majority vote of the then current appointed and confirmed members of the Board. As there were 11 appointed and confirmed members of the Board on the date of the meeting, 6 votes would be required for a motion to pass and only 4 members voted in favor of the designation, therefore the designation was denied.

Termination of Proceedings

SMC 25.12.850A states:

"In any case where a site, improvement or object is nominated for designation as a landmark site or landmark and thereafter the Board fails to approve such nominate or to adopt a report approving designation of such site, improvement or object, such proceeding shall terminate and no new proceeding under this ordinance may be commenced with respect to such site, improvement or object within five (5) years from the date of such termination without the written agreement of the owner, except when the site or improvement nominated is Seattle School District property and is in use as a public school facilities, no new proceeding may be commenced within ten (10) years from the date of termination."

This provision is applicable to these designation proceedings.

Issued: December 16, 2021

Ein Dotatey

Erin Doherty Landmarks Preservation Board Coordinator

cc: Susan Boyle, BOLA Architecture + Planning

Nathan Torgelson, SDCI Katrina Nygaard, SDCI

Kristen Johnson, Acting Chair, LPB